Why listening to music on your commute is holding you back

Alexandra
2 min readAug 22, 2020

--

Photo credits: Burst Shopify

If you commute daily, I am sure that you adopted the habit of listening to music in the train or the bus.

About a few weeks ago, I realized that every time I left my house, I had my earphones glued to my ears. I only took them out once I had reached my destination or when I have to talk to someone.

Music is good to distract yourself from a lengthy journey. However, it is still a distraction. It inhibits you from enjoying the life that surrounds you. It prevents you from self-reflection.

But the main reason why I decided to ‘plug out’ is because I realized that I was not comfortable with silence. I constantly needed something humming in the background, whether it is the television or my Spotify playlist. I was not comfortable, sitting in a silent room.

Music also affects your mood. Most songs are written about love or heartbreak, and I realized that by listening to these songs daily, I was conditioning myself to favor unrealistic expectations in my life. I subconsciously wanted my love life to be dramatic or tragic or even stupidly childish. It is good to dream but I was only becoming a dreamer, not a doer.

I would argue that plugging out is vital where one is feeling upset or stressed in their lives. When someone is going through a hard time in life, he or she is more susceptible to stay in their bubble of self-pity. Everyone deserves to grieve but pacifying oneself through a series of sad songs is counterintuitive. These songs will only make you feel worse and unmotivated. Why would you want to do that to yourself?

Now that I have plugged out, I found that I can control my emotions easier. I am happier and more productive with my time. I get things done when they need to be done because my emotions are no longer distracting me.

So take my advice, plug out and clear your mind!

--

--